The Archdruid Report

A site that I had read some last year, but gotten away from was The Archdruid Report, authored by John Michael Greer… who also happens to be the Archdruid of the US. Druidism has changed alot over the millennia, it was effectively stamped out for several centuries, and, to my knowledge, its resurgence has no direct connection to the Druids of Old. But the principles are still intact: knowledge, balance, music, and Nature. As important, JMG is a significant scholar and accomplished writer, though I admit I am not overly drawn to his work on Monsters, Magic, etc.

On his blog he writes a weekly report that is typically well researched, lengthy, and typically sparks a significant degree of discussion. Topics very often hover around the coming challenges of the 21st Century, and possible Druidic responses to them.

The past two weeks he has written about agriculture, specially it current issues with declining oil resources and its the possible solutions drawing from its deep history of adaptations. Good stuff!

Links to his recent posts:

Agriculture: The Price of Transition

Agriculture: Closing the Circle

-Rob

4 Responses

  1. Is there a body of work on Magic to which you are drawn? : ) Or are you saying you discount magic altogether — and, if so, why? That is, to what length have you gone to research that there magic thing? : ) Would you consider that the mind-body connection and “prayer” (words plus emotion) is aligned with “magic”? (Note, there have been scientific studies proving the “magic” of prayer — again, prayer is simply words/intent plus emotion) If the mind can heal (or make ill) the body, why would you s’pose it’s effect/power would stop there? And if you would not go further to learn regarding such a phenomenally valuable thing — if it were true, why not? Would that not be drawing conclusions based on ignorance and views of those akin to those who believed the earth was flat…simply because the very idea of “magic” seems goofy or something? lol

    This Druid guy seems pretty sharp, why would you feel such an intelligent fellow could believe and promote something that has little or absolutely no merit?

    Dove

  2. Dove,

    Thanks for commenting! I think you may have read more into some of my statements than was intended. To be clear, I said nothing more than that I was not overly drawn to the more mystical portions of John’s writings. I am agnostic with strong pantheistic leanings, who also happens to be a practicing Unitarian Universalist. As a general rule, I don’t deny the validity of much that I don’t understand.

    I have drawn no firm conclusions on the validity or lack thereof of magic, Reiki healing, and other things scorned by modern Western society. My agnosticism was a rebellion from dogmatic Christian religions and has provided me a basis for exploration ever since. In my limited experience, very much of what we think we Know is either wrong, or grossly oversimplified… whether in Religion or Science. Both my mother and wife have expeienced the benifits of Reiki and I have felt Deep Peace wash over me in the presence of Native American Holy Men during ceremonies and soul shaking awe when I met the Dalai Lama.

    I can neither explain, and refuse to deny, those experiences. But at the same time I am not drawn to looking into them more at this time. To answer your question of why not, it may be fear but if it is, it is hiding under the simple realities of my time pressures and the very urgent need I feel to discover and communicate more sustainable ways of living, and specifically growing food. Finally, it is very humbling to commit to believe in something. Maybe I am just top dang proud.
    -Rob

  3. “To answer your question of why not, it may be fear but if it is, it is hiding under the simple realities of my time pressures and the very urgent need I feel to discover and communicate more sustainable ways of living, and specifically growing food. Finally, it is very humbling to commit to believe in something. Maybe I am just top dang proud.”

    Awesome, that was a good answer, you’re sharp, I like you, heh ๐Ÿ™‚ Got a like-minded, unmarried brother? lol ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Seriously, I admire your mission, your tolerance for meat-eaters (former vegan here, and bible-pounder as a kid…so often I have learned the hard way, heh) … I probably wouldn’t have bothered commenting, but your Druid mention drew me in.

    I s’pose I feel my “mission” is to zero in on those who resist their own potent power — especially worthy, those who are already so close, wise and so loving and respectful of Mother Earth… The thing is, you’ve already felt it, kinda seen a bit of it, your wisdom comes through in knowing it is fear that holds you back from it. They say what we fear most is our own power : )

    Fear has a hold on us, we unknowingly do “magic” with it all the time (we draw that which we fear), it’s high time, indeed, that we discover that we can also, intentionally and undeniably, do “magic” with the opposite, love/joy. I know it sounds too simple, but it so the truth. There’s also great power in humility and vulnerability : ) We don’t have to be that way all the time, but there’s mucho power in those moments…

    It’s unfortunate that you don’t yet realize how much this knowledge would assist you in your endeavors (I know it’s inconceivable to you), and especially connected to others who have this “awareness.” But you seem to be inching toward it and are aware of your fear of it. “Too dang proud” and blah, blah, blah about time pressures — you wouldn’t say that if someone asked you if you had time to accept a million dollar check toward your mission, eh? lol ๐Ÿ˜‰

    But, hey, I won’t keep harping on it, it seems we all have our timeframe as to the right time for us to discover this truth : ) I just feel I’m being “called” to give ya’ a little nudge in that direction : ) Sometimes it takes several, but everything happens in the right time.

    Peace,
    Dove

  4. thanks for your help, Dove. bless up!

Leave a Reply

