Bosch Drill… A moment of Silence

I make rain barrels. In fact I make quite a few. They are extremely tough as they are constructed from 1.25″ American White Oak-Oak this thick is incredibly hard: it is impossible to nail through-you need to pre drill the nail holes.  To make the intake on my barrel I need to make a hole in the top. I have tried several ways to do this, but the most elegant is to cut a 4.25″ hole through the top with a hole saw. Now that Oak is also wet -soaked through with Wild Turkey whiskey, and the torque needed to turn a hole saw that large is rather extreme. I had a 4 amp Dewalt that was my toughest drill. The barrels ate it. So I bought a 7 amp Dewalt. And, the barrels ate it.

Then when business picked up last year, I bought my dream drill: a 8.5 amp Bosch Hammer drill. This tool was a beast, and if it managed to bind in the wet wood it would twist fast enough to bruise your ribs and knock the wind out of you. I have improved my technique much to the joy of my torso, but apparently even uber drills have limits. Last night, on barrel 147-a particularly tough one, the Bosch gave up the ghost in a fairly spectacular display of smoke and shorting electricity. It is off to be repaired this weekend, and I am searching for another drill -with 3 dozen barrels in the garage waiting for conversion I really need a back up on site.

I had some great shots of the drill all torn apart on the porch as I assessed the damage, not to bad, but terminal nonetheless, but I have misplaced the mini-USB for our EOS Camera and, alas, it is not to be.

Fret not, sweet Bosch! You will rise to drill again!

3 Responses

  1. I understand. Completely. And, for me at least, there can be nothing more frustrating than to have to replace tools that are needed to fashion/build/create/salvage/repair stuff whose ultimate aim is reduce the need for stuff.
    Good luck with it.

  2. I’ve seen rain barrels from – I love the perfectly round holes – they surely must use Bosch Drills

  3. Just an update, a had friend of mine from our Sustainability group (who also happens to be a retired Electrical Engineer) take a look at it and the Bosch is up and running again. Seems I melted the brush springs into the plastic housings in my running the drill too hard.

    If there was an upside, the day of downtime afforded me the time to rethink me technique, and I now drill holes to release the sawdust that build up in the hole saw cut which also clean the hole saw teeth. Cut time went from 3-5 minutes to 45 seconds.

Leave a Reply

