Being The Change

As something between Thompson’s Fear and Loathing and Sartre’s Nausea seeps into our collective psyche we must consciously pursue a more active approach.  A few days ago I posted -after a long hiatus- about my fears for the future.  I was then presented with comments from three of my respected blogging peers –Bart, FGLB, and Kory.  Again -all are in a similar malaise.  But more interesting is that many of them are similarly struggling with communicating it.  We’re bloggers – all of us are churning out 50k+ words annually regardless of what we have to say is poignant or if anyone reads it or not.  And if we -the verbose- can’t bring ourselves to write, that really is concerning.  

But we’re better than that.  FGLB shares a similar situation as me -working in The Real World while walking around like Roddy Piper in They Live -seeing the actual world for what it is.  Like him, I don’t talk about It too much at work – I don’t want to be That Guy either, instead sticking to more practical diatribes on gardening and hybrids and such.  But on our Blogs we can get the release we need to keep going, and much, much more importantly: we generate a ton of ideas & solutions while fostering a critical community of engaged problem solvers.   I write this blog to, in large part, help create the world I want to see for my children.  That world is still possible.  Here are some things that I think are critical to Our Future and areas that I challenge us all to think/write/expirement in as much as we can:

  • Local Food
  • Local Energy
  • Community Building
  • Local Finance
  • Hope, Love, & Laughter

We know the problems -even if they are more daunting and real now than before.  My challenge to myself and all of us is to find more solutions and small victories -and write about them!- for all our sakes.  Being the Change we want to see is the world is critical and becoming much less of a academic exercise by the day.  I’m confident to the point of arrogance in much of my life – and I know that we have the ability to literally change our communities with the skills and ideas at our disposal.   Read more, Think more, DO more.  And tell us about it.  

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world.  Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.” – Margaret Mead

We have much to do, and little time to do it in.  Let’s get to work.

Be The Change.


2 Responses

  1. Hi Rob,

    I really do enjoy your blog and I am quite happy to see that you are finally back with us (note that among to few blog that I follow there haven’t been a lot of post recently).

    Like you on a smaller scale I try to be THE change too, my 2008 victory is : one more garden in our neighbor hood, as a friend of mine after seeing what can be produce using the square foot garden method in 2007 turned a piece of lawn into a nice garden that was producing a lot of tomatoes and cucumbers, next year bigger step, I’ll encourage him to grow more varieties. The second small victory is that he had gathered all the leaf around to start a good compost pile this autumn to add to his garden next spring (no tilling garden on the way)…. Step by step he is becoming what his grand father was …. a humble gardener proud to put some tomatoes on the table without any dressing, the taste is enough….

  2. Rob, I’ve enjoyed your writing in the past. It makes me think about what I’m doing, and what I can adapt to my home and life here in Australia. I love the whole concept of “sub-acre agriculture” and how much you can do with so little.

    A lot of us read blogs and don’t often leave comments, but today I thought you’d appreciate some feedback. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

