Kennebec Poatoes i.e. The Lunker Spud

Moose Tubers bills the Kennebec as a potato capable of throwing some “lunkers”.  It is also known for being fairly simple to grow and an easy potato to cook with -good for everything from frying to baking to boiling.  Easy to grow and easy to cook -plus it produces big spuds?  I’m sold.

I am less than 15% of the way into my Kennebec patch, but I can personally confirm the “Lunker” claim.  In 60#’s of harvest potatoes this evening, I had 8 spuds over 1# each and 1 monster that broke 2#!  Also, we have a new Record Holder in the 1 Plant Harvest contest:

4 lbs 13 oz.  from one Kennebec Plant.  Top Left is 1# 1oz Top Right is 1# 13 oz!

4 lbs 13 oz. from one Kennebec Plant. Top Left is 1# 1oz Top Right is 1# 13 oz!

DANG are those some big spuds!  The “small” potatoes to the left would be considered larger than average Yukons.  Pretty impressed!  The 25′ tape is 3.25″ long for reference.   Unfortunately, the crop seems to be a bit sporadic – some plants are barely hitting 1# – the July drought came at a really bad time.  The plants that did well were in patches of mycorrhizal fungus that must have added to their water / nutrient intake – a trend I have seen all season and last.  Again, these potatoes were grown with no irrigation and no amendments other than a rye/vetch cover and over wintering 100 laying hens on the plot – about as close to zero input as possible.

It was great to have some good news  – tomorrow I am dropping my tomato tissues off at the Ag Extension for positive ID – but am fairly certain its Late BLight.  Also looks like it is hitting my other plot some too.  That sucks.

Again, good to have such huge potatoes to lighten the mood – baked potato for 3 anyone?


6 Responses

  1. I never tried growing potatoes at home until reading you wax poetic about them. This year I grew Yukon and Kennebec, and they were awesome. They are also easy to grow and store.

  2. Yes, we tried Kennebecs last year, the first year we grew potatoes. They’re out there in the ground now, I hope safe from the blight. Have yet to dig any of those. They’re a great variety.

  3. sold!

    kennebec is going in next year.

  4. Without irrigation and small fert input these should do alright- otherwise I would worry about keeping & quality.

    Good to hear good news- sorry about the blight. Farming is so full of unknowns. We really should all have an annual income set aside to get thru hard times….

  5. I finished harvesting my potatoes, which were mostly Kennebecs (by coincidence, actually). I averaged a little over 1 lb per square foot, with no inputs or fuss beyond planting and covering with straw. (I got no potatoes growing in the straw, btw.)

    Most of these went to the food bank, but a fair few are “down cellar” to test their keeping quality in a big tub of slightly damp peat moss.

  6. My record is now 1 lbs 1.25 oz. Purple Viking. Obviously not the same ballpark, but it sure is exciting to find big ones isnt it.

Leave a Reply

