Autumn Brings Change

So this week saw the culmination of some significant changes in the World of Rob.  Effective yesterday I have seen a shift change at work.  One of the primary reasons that I can do all the things that I chronicle on this blog is that I have had a 3 day weekend -every weekend for the past 4 years.  I have worked 5am until 5pm Tues-Fri for that entire time.  As I work in a 24hour, 7 day operation for my pay, there has always been the possibilty of a shift change – and each passing year has increased the likelihood. of that happening.

Effective yesterday my new schedule will consist of 3 monster 13 hour days, Saturday thru Monday, with the next 4 days off. While this means that as long as the kids are in school we do not get a full day off with them, I also get 4 days to be a better partner at home and find more ways to grow food, make fuel, and build soils on small acreages.  FOUR DAYS!  And then the summers – 4 days off together as a family.  It is still sinking in and the pros and cons have yet to settle in.  Will the 9 months with no full weekends eat away at us, or will the Summers and free time during the week out weigh it.  Either way it works out to 7-8 less hours in the office a week and that is a Good Thing.  The kiddos are still young enough (6 and 7) that Dad taking them to school is still cool, and I just might finally buy a Mundo Bike to ride them there in style.

Left Brain says that with an extra day I just might be able to stay on top of all my current commitments.  Right Brain says I should call that farmer who offered me 6 acres to “do basically anything I wanted with”…

To everything turn, turn, turn.


6 Responses

  1. It is an inspiration to watch you grow as a permaculturist, and I can’t wait to see what the growing season brings. But take care of your family above all.

  2. When you talk about your kids and summer time I remember my summers with both parents (they were teachers) and I smile. We had terrific times even the summers when it rained non-stop. And what made it great was time spent together doing things like digging the well or building cabins or being allowing into my great aunt’s garden.
    I think your kids won’t tell you now how important time spent doing meaningful things with you is…but they will in the future.

  3. way to take the permaculture attitude towards life. Its not just about designing an integrated living space. It can change your whole approach to life as evidenced by your willingness to capitalize on the positives of having 4 days free, despite the lack of weekends and 13 hr days. I’d be willing to stay later in return for another day off at my job.

    So much of our society resolves around our jobs, they pretty much define us. Its one of the things I have wrestled with for a long time. Think about it, which would you rather people ask you when you meet them, what do you do for a living, or what do you like to do?

    best wishes.

  4. Sounds like an interesting shift! Let us know how it goes…

  5. Interesting how the two of you commented on my attitude as a “permaculture” one.

    This week has been incredible so far – gourmet brunches in Madison with my wife, I have 3 loaves of bread in the works, I’ve worked out more in two days than in the past month, and -well- I am just plain happier!

    It is amazing the psychological shift that occurs when the majority of your alarms wake you up to what you *want* to do, rather than what you *have* to do.

    And I still have two more days off this week. This is unreal.


Leave a Reply

