Coppice Compost Harvesting

More to come soon as I do a proper write up, but here are some links I thew on Faccebook from today’s Coppice Harvest which netted just shy of 15 cubic yards – about 6000#’s.  Holy crap was this a fun day.  Broke the hitch mount off the dump truck and I barely even care.  The Vermeer 600XL chipper is bad ass.  Its also more tool than this project needs, but figuring that out was one of the reasons I rented it.  Thanks again to Chris and Mark from work for helping me out!



And thanks to coppicing, no trees were killed in the making of these videos!


3 Responses

  1. Hi Rob:

    You have me logged in as someone else, but that’s OK. How late in the season have you propated the comfrey? I’m way behind, and have big bushes that need to be hacked back, and then I would slice up the base and transplant, but I’m thinking it might be too late. Let me know if you get a chance.
    We continue our focus on herbaceous perennials. We had really good success with sorrel, Good King Henry, blue honeysuckle, and ramps. Just got in our bulbs for camassiah quamash. We’ll see what happens with that as we go forward.
    I mentioned your blog over at Guy Mcpherson’s today for people that want to get ready but don’t have alot of space.
    House on the hill is getting close to being done. 45 and blowing today, and inside the bermed interior it was quite comfortable.
    Keep beating the drum.

    • Ed, I’ve made cuttings in January before the frost gets in for real: the stuff refuses to die. If you are pushing the season I would use larger root chunks say 4-6″ rather than 1-2″. If you want a big patch, plant a row perpendicular to the area, and the next year drag a chisel plow through it. Repeat for 1-2 more years – I have seen an acre propagated this way from about a dozen initial plants.

      Great to hear about your progress. Wanted to thank you again for the impetus to do all of this. Waaaaay back in December ’09 you turned me onto Jean Pain and its been life altering. THANKS!

  2. […] only that, but I wanted to learn how much material it truly takes to make one of these so I also sourced all the biomass myself from two local farms, dropping literally hundreds of invasive buckthorn and honeysuckles as well as […]

Leave a Reply

