Cranberry Pecan Bread -aka “CRACK”

Thought I would share the recipie which is essentially a variant to the No-Knead Bread Recipes.  Couldn’t be easier and it is unbelievably delicious.

  • 2 cups room temp water in a good sized mixing bowl
  • Add a short 1/2 tsp of dry yeast
  • let sit for 3-4 minutes for the yeast to dissolve and then stir until water is cloudy
  • add 4 cups flour mix (see below)
  • 1 heaping TSP of sea salt
  • heaping 1/2 cup of chopped/halved pecans
  • heaping 1/2 cup of dried cranberries
  • 1/3 cup hulled sunflower seeds
  • OPTIONAL – 2 Tablespoons honey
  • Stir until dough is sticky – should be much wetter than usual bread dough – add water as needed
  • Cover with damp towel and let sit for 12-18 hours
  • Roll onto well floured surface and press the CO2 out of the dough.
  • Form a ball and let the dough ‘rest’ for 15 minutes
  • press the dough out again and form into loaf and place into rising bowl – seam side down
  • let rise for 90 minutes
  • Preheat oven to 450 F and place covered container (pyrex, dutch oven, bread cloche) inside to heat up as well
  • After dough has risen for 2 hours- total-, and oven is at 450 , remove baking dish to stovetop and roll dough into the baking dish so that the seam side is up.
  • Cover baking dish and return to oven
  • Bake 30 minutes covered
  • Remove cover and reduce heat to 425 for 10-15 minutes
  • Remove bread when crust is hard and deep golden brown
  • Let bread cool for as long as you can (10 minutes preferred, but I never make it that long!)
  • Enjoy!

Flour Mix: I use a 25% whole wheat mix:: 3 cups white + 1 cup whole wheat +  3 tbsp wheat germ + 1/4 cup wheat bran.  I also add 1/2 cup ground flax.  Mix very well with a spoon, etc.  I keep a large container of this mix on the counter and use it for much of my baking – from pancakes to bread to pizza dough.  As my kids and wife are all vegetarian, the extra protein and fats from the flax is good assurance of their health (we spend heavily on health ASSURANCE not just health INSURANCE) and the white flour ensures the bread is light enough to form a good crumb.

7 Responses

  1. Sounds luscious! A picture would have been superb!
    at the Farmlet

  2. So perfect! Last week I tried a no-knead recipe (a very basic one) for the first time, and the results were delicious. You’ve given me some ideas for a second loaf.

    • Natalie – the thing to remember with the No Knead is that its mostly technique. The goal is to have a really wet dough, a long rise, and cooking with high heat in a covered container. Virtually any bread recipe can be modified – the trick is to spend a bit longer adding water and/or flour to the initial dough to get the right texture. I am still fine tuning the rise time and yeast amount as our house gets to 50 at night and I am the yeast is not reproducing fast enough in that cold temp.

  3. I just took this out of the oven, and it’s wonderful! I am not a bread baker, but for whatever reason (perhaps the name), I was moved to try this. I used whole wheat pastry flour, and I think the texture is great. My texture test is how thinly I can slice a bread, and I can do 1/4″ slices of this, which is perfect! The sunflower seeds account for a lot of the flavor, so add those with care if you don’t love them.

  4. Yes, it does sound wonderful. My wife has been making one very similar. I think she saw it on BreadTopia’s site.
    It’s been or best seller for the last two years at the Farmer’s Market and it’s strongest supporters have used the CRACK addage. Good to have a shared experience. Other than the upcoming blizzard LOL

  5. I made a variation of this with frozen cranberries instead of dried and toasted pecans. Did 3/4 wheat flour with 1/4 white. Fantastic! Thx for the idea…I’m trying to think of what to incorporate next. It really is addicting!

Leave a Reply

